Arc Publications logo

50 years at the cutting edge of poetry publishing

“A meeting point for poets of all latitudes”
— VĂ­ctor Rodríguez Núñez

Antony Rowland

Antony Rowland has published three poetry collections:
The Land of Green Ginger (Salt, 2008), I Am a Magenta Stick
(Salt, 2012) and M (Arc, 2017). His poems were included in
Roddy Lumsden’s anthology Identity Parade: New British and
Irish Poets
(Bloodaxe, 2010).

Rowland received an Eric Gregory Award from the
Society of Authors in 2000, and he was awarded the
Manchester Poetry Prize in 2012. He was invited to record
work for the UK Poetry Archive in 2009, and the Lyrikline
(Germany) in 2014. The Dutch government elected him as
a UK poetry ‘ambassador’ for 2016: his poetry was read on
national television, and shown on screens at Schipol airport
and Amsterdam Central Station.

In 2018, ‘Newark’ from M was shortlisted for the
Forward Prize for Best Single Poem, and was published in
The Forward Book of Poetry 2019. Peter Riley has described his
work in The Fortnightly Review as ‘an original and thoughtful
handling of a major European modernist mode.’

Reading on Poetry Archive