Arc Publications logo

50 years at the cutting edge of poetry publishing

“A meeting point for poets of all latitudes”
— VĂ­ctor Rodríguez Núñez

David Baker USA

David Baker is the author of seven collections of poems: Midwest Eclogue (W W Norton, 2005), Changeable Thunder (2001), The Truth about Small Towns (1998), After the Reunion (1994), Sweet Home, Saturday Night (1991), Haunts (1985), and Laws of the Land (1981). His two books of criticism are Heresy and the Ideal: On Contemporary Poetry (2000) and Meter in English: A Critical Engagement (1996). A new title, Radiant Lyre: Essays on Lyric Poetry, co-edited by David Baker and Ann Townsend, is published by Graywolf Press in February 2007. Among his awards are fellowships and prizes from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Ohio Arts Council, Poetry Society of America, Society of Midland Authors, and the Pushcart Foundation. His poems and essays appear in such magazines as The Atlantic Monthly, DoubleTake, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Poetry, and many others. Baker was raised in Missouri and currently resides on a small acreage near Granville, Ohio. He serves as poetry editor of The Kenyon Review and teaches at Denison University and in the M.F.A. program for writers at Warren Wilson College. Treatise on Touch: Selected Poems is his first book to appear in the UK.