Arc Publications logo

50 years at the cutting edge of poetry publishing

“A meeting point for poets of all latitudes”
— Víctor Rodríguez Núñez

Iain Galbraith

Iain Galbraith's volume of poems The True Height of the Ear was published by Arc in 2018. His most recent translated books are Esther Dischereit's Sometimes a Single Leaf. Selected Poems, a Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation (Arc, 2020), and Reinhard Jirgl's novel The Unfinished (forthcoming from Seagull in 2020). He also translates into German, most recently John Burnside's In the Name of the Bee / Im Namen der Biene (Golden Luft, 2019) and, together with Melanie Walz, Alice Oswald's books Memorial and Falling Awake, collected under the German title 46 Minuten im Leben der Dämmerung (S. Fischer Verlag, 2018). He has received several prizes for his work, including the Stephen Spender Prize (2014), the Popescu Prize for European Poetry Translation (2015), the Schlegel-Tieck Prize in 2016 for Jan Wagner's Self-portrait with a Swarm of Bees (Arc) and in 2019 for Esther Kinsky's novel River (Fitzcarraldo), and, for the translation of a forthcoming volume of poems by the Austrian poet Raoul Schrott, a PEN America/Heim Translation Fund Grant (2017). Iain was born and grew up in the West of Scotland and now lives in Wiesbaden, Germany.