Arc Publications logo

50 years at the cutting edge of poetry publishing

“A meeting point for poets of all latitudes”
— Víctor Rodríguez Núñez

Mary O'Donnell Ireland

Mary O'Donnell's seventh collection of poems, Those April Fevers (Arc Poetry UK), was published last spring. Other collections include The Ark Builders (Arc Poetry 2009), September Elegies (Lapwing Press, Belfast 2003) and her selected poems, The Place of Miracles (New Island, 2006), followed by an anthology of Galician poetry in translation - To the Winds Our Sails: Irish Poets Translate Galician Poetry - which she co-edited with Dr. Manuela Palacios. Her Selected Poems were published in Hungarian in 2011 and she was co-winner of the Irodälmi Jelen translation prize. She is interested in poetry and translation collaborations with other European and Middle Eastern poets.

She has written four novels and two collections of short fiction, including her latest novel Where They Lie (New Island, 2014). She was the 2015 editor of the poetry journal The Stony Thursday Book.

Awards include a Listowel Poetry Prize (1982), a Listowel Fiction Prize (1990), an Austin Clarke Poetry Prize (1997), a V.S.Pritchett Short Story prize (2000), the Fish International Short Story Prize (2010), prize-winner in the Cardiff International Poetry Competition (2010), & the James Joyce Ireland-Australia Prize (2001). She has held residencies in Ireland, Australia, at the Princess Grace Irish Library, Monaco and at the Baltic Centre for Writing and Translation in Sweden.

She has judged the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the Hennessy Literary Award, the Strokestown International Poetry Competition and in 2013 the Irish Times/Mountains to Sea Poetry Prize. Currently on the board of the Irish Writers' Centre, she is also a member of the Irish arts organisation Aosdana.