Arc Publications logo

50 years at the cutting edge of poetry publishing

“A meeting point for poets of all latitudes”
— Víctor Rodríguez Núñez

Viola Fischerová Czech Republic

Viola Fischerová was born in 1935 in Brno. She worked in the Czech radio during the sixties. In 1968 she emigrated to Switzerland with her husband, the author Karel Michal. In 1985 she moved to Germany and in 1994 she returned to live in Prague. Between 1975 and 1994 she contributed to Radio Free Europe. She began writing in the 1950s but was not allowed to publish until the 1990s, since when she has brought out eight collections of poetry and translations from Polish and German. The poems in this anthology are from her collections 'Hag's Hour' (1994) and 'Now' (2006).